Listed in the National Register in 1987, The Culpeper Historic District encompasses 129 contributing buildings. Overtime, various parts of the Town acquired picturesque names such as The Warf, Sugar Bottom, and Slabtown. Join us on this tour for a step back in time to learn more about these areas in Culpeper.
We will board the trolley at the Historic Train Depot. To start, we will drive through an area once known as The Wharf. A sub-area of downtown Culpeper located at the lower end of East Davis Street, once known for its busy shipping activity. During the antebellum period, Culpeper sat at the junction of five important roads in the Virginia Piedmont. The arrival of the Orange & Alexandria Railroad line at the eastern edge of town in 1853 augmented its role as a transportation hub. As a result, local commercial and residential development moved eastward toward the railroad, in an area known locally as “the wharf” for its association with trade and transport.
Next, we will head to the historic Antioch Baptist Church, one of the oldest churches in Culpeper. We will enter the church and tour the inside of the facility, noting the significance of the church’s interior and stained glass windows. Located in the Sugar Bottom district, the name was received from a spring that once supplied water described as sweet as sugar to many town citizens. This was a popular play area for town youth and grew onto an African-American centered neighborhood, anchored by the Antioch church.
The tour will continue to the Slabtown area, from Asher to Greenwood. Here, during the winter of 1863-1864, Grant’s armies built their huts from slabs of timber. The Green family, majority land owner at the time, later filed an unsuccessful damage suit against the federal government for timber appropriation.
We will disembark the trolley to tour Greenwood, built around 1760 was one of many official welcome sites during Lafayette's 1825 American tour. He was greeted here by “old soldiers of the Revolution” and enjoyed local apple Brandy on his stop. Visitors will enjoy a tour of the grounds of Greenwood. The owner will discuss the on-going restoration of the 1760 house, and its rich history during the Revolutionary and Civil Wars.
Following the historic districts tour, we will head to Prince Michel Winery for a private wine tasting.
Your Venue Location on Google Map